New Ezine Article on Decreased Truck Parking Issues

As truck parking decreases the legal risk of accidents from improper truck parking increases. The double-edged dilemma poses a new problem for trucking companies. Illegal parking, in violation of a statute, regulation, or ordinance, may automatically make transportation companies negligent if an accident occurs. The law calls this automatic negligence or “negligence per se”. It applies when a law is violated and an accident occurs.

There are several things to consider. First, “negligence per se” is not automatic just because a law is violated, such as illegal parking. The harm suffered must be the type that the law sought to prevent. For instance, the intent of a law that says no parking in front of fire hydrants is to ensure access to a fire hydrant when there is a fire. Thus, if a vehicle is illegally parked in front of a fire hydrant and is struck by another vehicle causing injuries, it does not mean that the driver of the illegally parked vehicle is “negligent per se”. The injury that occurred was not the harm sought to be protected by the law.

For more on this insightful topic, see the full article.

About transportationlegalnews

I am a life-long resident of Central Pennsylvania. I received my Bachelor of Arts from Dickinson College, graduating magna cum laude with a major in political science. I subsequently worked for Price Waterhouse as an auditor. I then graduated from the Dickinson School of Law. For more than twenty five (25) years, I have litigated cases in Central Pennsylvania. As a life-long resident of and practitioner in this region, I am able to prepare and evaluate cases from a Central Pennsylvania perspective. I am familiar to and have earned the respect of the Courts and opposing counsel in this area. I also represent transportation companies on their claims throughout the country. This ranges from immediately responding to the accident to litigating the case. I have been admitted pro hac vice in a number of states as trial counsel. I have tried cases in a number of jurisdictions as listed in the "cases" section. I have been active in a number of transportation organizations. I have also obtained my CDL. This has provided great insight into the challenge of operating a tractor trailer and the mechanical elements of the equipment.
This entry was posted in Trucking, Trucking Defense and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment